BOOK REVIEWS

Dear Justice League Reviews

UPDATE TIME: 2019-09-08 
Review Score: 3 out of 5 star From 0 user ratings
ISBN:1401284132
LANGUAGE:English

"Ok, this was seriously cute. I like how it's aimed right at the target audience without feeling cloying or like it's talking down to the readers. I like how Northrop portrays the Leaguers as being genuinely interested in helping the kids writing to them, and how their individual stories humanize them. It's really hard to humanize Superman, but here it is. And I really liked the art, which is slightly more cartoonish and stylized than you would find in a Justice League book aimed at an older audience without being cutesy like Tiny Titans. (Not that there's anything wrong with Tiny Titans!) Also, it's pretty funny. " said.

"This book in graphic novel/comic format focuses on eight members of the Justice League, each heralding his/her own chapter. The premise is that these superheroes are providing responses and/or advice to fans who have contacted them, often including bloopers in their lives you never hear about! The short stories are funny, many with slapstick humor typically found in comic books. The heroes do end up fighting one central enemy in the end, so the stories do have a common theme.

Reluctant and developing readers will find this book approachable and easy to tackle. It's a great fit for the young (and old) superhero lovers in your life.

#DearJusticeLeague
Thanks to #NetGalley and @DCKids
" said.

"This is a wonderful little comic books for kids. It's about letter from kids asking the Justice League questions. Each chapter focuses on one Justice League member reading and then replying to the letter. The story is a short funny bit that adds up to a cute conclusion. Some parts are funnier and better done, like Superman's mistake leads to a Rube Goldberg-esque slapstick but Aquaman's response to if he smells like fish wasn't as funny.

The art is just wonderful. It's a soft watercolor style, with loose lines. The flow of the drawing and the expression of the kids and superheroes are well done to create humor with the body language and facial expression.The colors are bright without being overwhelming. It lags a bit in the middle because Aquaman's doesn't add much to the overall story, but it's excellent comic book for kids.
" said.

"'Dear Justice League' by Michael Northrop with art by Gustavo Duarte is a fun collection of short stories about superheroes who get letters from children.

Each chapter features a different member of the Justice League, and there is a larger story going on loosely. Superman gets asked if he ever makes mistakes. Wonder Woman's letter reminds her of her 11th birthday. Cyborg is challenged to online video games.

I really loved this collection of fun stories that show a lighter side to the Justice League members. I loved the caricature style art that kept everything kind of light and silly. I think kids would get a kick out of this, and it might even pull in a reluctant reader or two. Great job!

I received a review copy of this graphic novel from DC Zoom, DC Entertainment and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you for allowing me to review this graphic novel.
" said.

"I was excited to get a preview copy of this from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I'd heard about it at the ALA conference and thought the idea sounded fun. Basically, kids text questions to their favorite superheroes and actually get answers.

The concept is clever and I really enjoyed the look of the book. The character designs stayed true to the source material but still felt modern and fun. Unfortunately, I don't think the formula for the stories really worked. I found the book to be a little repetitive and dull.

The individual sections don't really work as stories because they are always working towards answering a pretty weak question. This is where I feel it really misses the mark. I assumed when I heard the format that this would be something that was fun and helpful for kids. Why not ask real questions that kids are concerned with: how to fit in, how to deal with bad news, etc. Instead we get things like does Aquaman smell like fish. That might have worked as a funny one thrown in, but unfortunately it isn't funny. Ultimately, I think this struggles to find a tone. I know what reading level it is, but I have no ideas on what audience it's for.
" said.

"I picked up a preview copy of Dear Justice League on Free Comic Book Day at my local comic book store. The preview showed young Ben Silsby texting Superman, asking if The Man of Steel every messed up, and made mistakes. Hawkgirl got an e-mail from Haley Lu, asking what Kendra eats.

I was hooked!

I picked up the full graphic novel from my local comic book store. I re-enjoyed the wacky romp that followed, as Superman read young Ben's text on his phone. What is truly enjoyable is Michael Northrop has managed to bring DC's iconic characters down to Earth. It is amazing how all-ages stories are able to do that quite well. Brilliantly simple questions, like What was Wonder Woman's eleventh birthday like? Does Aquaman really smell like fish? Was Batman ever "the new kid"?

Northrop's story weaves those answers around an alien invasion. Gustavo Duarte's art is really enjoyable.

I understand that with so many aliens on the team, there's really no way for J'onn J'onzz to stand out. I'm still not a fan of Cyborg on the team. Cyborg is a New Teen Titan. That's where he should be.

All in all this is an enjoyable Justice League story. It should be in every Justice League fan's library.
" said.

"Answering fan mail doesn't sound too dangerous compared to a superhero's usual activities, but you would be surprised. Superman actually crashes into a building while reading an email from a fan while flying through the city. Other fans write to Aquaman asking if he smells like a fish, or to Hawkgirl asking if she eats small mammals. Wonder Woman gets invited to a birthday party - and has some memories of her own eleventh birthday. (Warning, don't pig out on the cake.)

The notes come from kids with a variety of questions - some are worried about fashion, others want to know about how to survive the first day at a new school. (Batman has some great ideas for a school utility belt.) Besides answering their mail, we also see the heroes feeding pets, teasing each other, and battling giant bugs from outer space. Flash even teaches some practical jokers a lesson. The final letter actually addresses the entire League, so they answer it together, rounding off the book with a nice recap of the lessons the heroes have learned.

With humorous situations and action-filled illustrations, this graphic novel is sure to appeal to DC fans.

I read an e-book provided by the publisher through NetGalley.
" said.

"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central

In this short, middle grade graphic novel, DC superheroes from the Justice League answer e mails from young fans. Superman is asked if he ever makes mistakes, and a story unfolds with one of his rescues taking multiple wrong turns. Aquaman gets an inquiry about whether he smells like fish, leading to some super hero introspection. Wonder Woman recounts her busy life after being invited to a young admirer's birthday party, and then decides to attend. The Green Lantern thinks about his costuming after being questioned by a young fashionista, and Batman counsels a young writer about being new in town.

The super heroes' backstories unfold with lots of pictures and few words, but it is clear that they struggle just as much as their fans, although in somewhat different ways. I love the administrative side of being a superhero, and the fact that answering e mails is a chore even for the likes of Wonder Woman! There is a good mix of silly antics and introspection that is not a surprise coming from a great middle grade author like Northrop.

The illustrations are done in full color, and this reminded me of the comic books we used to purchase at gas stations on long car trips, although the small size makes this easier to carry in backpacks.

Young readers who are fans of DC comics, or adults who WANT young readers to be fans, will find this an excellent way to introduce the canon of characters in the Justice League and entice readers to look into the comic books. This is a must have for readers who enjoyed Yee's DC Super Hero Girls Adventure Collection, Fridolfs and Nguyen's DC Comics: Secret Hero Society and Pearson and Gonzalez's Super Sons: The Polarshield Project.
" said.

December 2019 New Book:

You Maybe Interested In Other Reviews:


Hot Search:

short online    information of endangered animals    designer girls dresses    childrens designer boutique    online stories for toddlers    marvel com comics    good books about life lessons    hardcover book    how to learn from a book    girls boutique clothing sale    stories for kids online to listen    children learn what they live    books for preschoolers    baby animals kids    short stories for reading    art and craft    children s classics    penguin edition books    multicultural books for children    children's stories with lessons