BOOK REVIEWS

I Don't Want to Be a Frog Reviews

UPDATE TIME: 2017-05-24 
Review Score: 4 out of 5 star From 172 user ratings
ISBN:0385378661
LANGUAGE:English

" Loved this book for story time! I had another staff member join me as well so we read it in parts and the kids really loved it that way! " said.

" As a parent of a transgender child I think the message that this story sends is completely heartbreaking. We need to allow our children to be who they want to be. If the point was to embrace the positive aspects of your self, the point is easily lost. " said.

"I Don't Want to Be a Frog, written by Dev Petty and illustrated by Mike Boldt, is a nominee for the 2017-18 South Carolina Picture Book Award.

Little Frog wants to be anything but a frog. A cat. A rabbit. A pig. Even an owl. Anything that's not wet, slimy, or forced to eat bugs.

His dad tries to convince him of all the reasons that he can't be anything but a frog, but Little Frog may need a little more persuasion...perhaps in the form of a wolf with an appetite for all things warm and furry.

Maybe being a frog isn't so bad after all.

I Don't Want to Be a Frog is an excellent book for emphasizing self-acceptance. No, we may not always like everything about ourselves, but we do need to celebrate what makes us unique.

Young readers (and their parents) are sure to enjoy the back and forth between Little Frog and his dad. They'll likely see parallels in their own conversations.

Fans of Mo Willems, Mac Barnett, Jory John, and Jon Klassen will delight in I Don't Want to Be a Frog.
" said.

" This book is a cute way to talk about diversity in the class. All students are made different as all the animals in this book. And while each animal does different things, so do our students. Each student is unique in their own way as God made them. This book is a great way to talk to students about loving yourself while also respecting others differences. To teach students it's okay to be unique. " said.

" A fun story about self-acceptance. " said.

" I could see this book being a favorite read aloud, especially for emergent readers. Great illustrations accompany the text. " said.

" My granddaughter pretends to be a frog each time we read this beautifully illustrated book about being yourself. " said.

" Love this one, and imagine it would be great fun to read aloud. Perfectly hilarious writing by debut author Dev Petty, with Mike Boldt's illustrations pushing it all to the max. " said.

May 2017 New Book:

You Maybe Interested In Other Reviews:


Hot Search:

fun craft ideas    books for babies under 1    sand bank    cool craft ideas for kids    educational comics for kids    free online stories for children    goldilocks and the three bears book    craftwork for children    used children's bookstores    fun arts and crafts projects    a children's book    short novels to read online    bear alert book    latest children's books    mother goose books    simple art ideas for kids    drop off kids daycare    roald dahl author study    mother tongue book    12 years