BOOK REVIEWS

I Don't Want to Be a Frog Reviews

UPDATE TIME: 2017-08-09 
Review Score: 4 out of 5 star From 172 user ratings
ISBN:0385378661
LANGUAGE:English

" Cute illustrations. Little Frog doesn't want to be a frog. He wants to be something else, like a cat or a pig. Frogs are too wet and slimy and have to eat bugs. But he learns there is a major advantage to being a frog when a hungry wolf comes by. " said.

"I Don't Want to Be a Frog, written by Dev Petty and illustrated by Mike Boldt, is a nominee for the 2017-18 South Carolina Picture Book Award.

Little Frog wants to be anything but a frog. A cat. A rabbit. A pig. Even an owl. Anything that's not wet, slimy, or forced to eat bugs.

His dad tries to convince him of all the reasons that he can't be anything but a frog, but Little Frog may need a little more persuasion...perhaps in the form of a wolf with an appetite for all things warm and furry.

Maybe being a frog isn't so bad after all.

I Don't Want to Be a Frog is an excellent book for emphasizing self-acceptance. No, we may not always like everything about ourselves, but we do need to celebrate what makes us unique.

Young readers (and their parents) are sure to enjoy the back and forth between Little Frog and his dad. They'll likely see parallels in their own conversations.

Fans of Mo Willems, Mac Barnett, Jory John, and Jon Klassen will delight in I Don't Want to Be a Frog.
" said.

" Cute book about a young frog who wants to be any other animal than a frog. He wants to be fluffy and cute. His dad always tells him he can't be those things. Then they meet a wolf. The wolf tells the frog all the things he eats--cute, fluffy animals. This finally convinces the young one that it's great being a wet, slimy frog, because wolves don't eat them.Good for preschool storytimes. " said.

" This book is a cute way to talk about diversity in the class. All students are made different as all the animals in this book. And while each animal does different things, so do our students. Each student is unique in their own way as God made them. This book is a great way to talk to students about loving yourself while also respecting others differences. To teach students it's okay to be unique. " said.

" A fun story about self-acceptance. " said.

" I could see this book being a favorite read aloud, especially for emergent readers. Great illustrations accompany the text. " said.

" My granddaughter pretends to be a frog each time we read this beautifully illustrated book about being yourself. " said.

" Love this one, and imagine it would be great fun to read aloud. Perfectly hilarious writing by debut author Dev Petty, with Mike Boldt's illustrations pushing it all to the max. " said.

August 2017 New Book:

You Maybe Interested In Other Reviews:


Hot Search:

simple craft activities    baby boy clothes boutique    craft project ideas for kids    kids paper crafts    books for kids age 8    teddy bear books    art and craft ideas    free kids craft ideas    boutique toddler clothes    simple art and craft    sheep    girls boutiques online    recommended books for toddlers    facts about species    stories with morals for kids    best toddler books 2013    cool comics for kids    polar bear books    discount baby boutique    large blank book