BOOK REVIEWS

I Don't Want to Be a Frog Reviews

UPDATE TIME: 2017-10-21 
Review Score: 4 out of 5 star From 172 user ratings
ISBN:0385378661
LANGUAGE:English

"I Don't Want to Be a Frog, written by Dev Petty and illustrated by Mike Boldt, is a nominee for the 2017-18 South Carolina Picture Book Award.

Little Frog wants to be anything but a frog. A cat. A rabbit. A pig. Even an owl. Anything that's not wet, slimy, or forced to eat bugs.

His dad tries to convince him of all the reasons that he can't be anything but a frog, but Little Frog may need a little more persuasion...perhaps in the form of a wolf with an appetite for all things warm and furry.

Maybe being a frog isn't so bad after all.

I Don't Want to Be a Frog is an excellent book for emphasizing self-acceptance. No, we may not always like everything about ourselves, but we do need to celebrate what makes us unique.

Young readers (and their parents) are sure to enjoy the back and forth between Little Frog and his dad. They'll likely see parallels in their own conversations.

Fans of Mo Willems, Mac Barnett, Jory John, and Jon Klassen will delight in I Don't Want to Be a Frog.
" said.

" Cute book about a young frog who wants to be any other animal than a frog. He wants to be fluffy and cute. His dad always tells him he can't be those things. Then they meet a wolf. The wolf tells the frog all the things he eats--cute, fluffy animals. This finally convinces the young one that it's great being a wet, slimy frog, because wolves don't eat them.Good for preschool storytimes. " said.

" A fun, original take on the I-want-to-be-something-else story. I really enjoyed that the wolf that interferes in the creative activity is a hunter who eats animals but ISN'T cast as a villain! Great "you are who you are" lesson, and it also teaches that there is value even in things that people don't like (like sliminess and eating bugs). Very bright, clear illustrations. The speech bubbles could make it a great introduction to comics and reading alone. " said.

" This book is a cute way to talk about diversity in the class. All students are made different as all the animals in this book. And while each animal does different things, so do our students. Each student is unique in their own way as God made them. This book is a great way to talk to students about loving yourself while also respecting others differences. To teach students it's okay to be unique. " said.

" A fun story about self-acceptance. " said.

" I could see this book being a favorite read aloud, especially for emergent readers. Great illustrations accompany the text. " said.

" My granddaughter pretends to be a frog each time we read this beautifully illustrated book about being yourself. " said.

" Love this one, and imagine it would be great fun to read aloud. Perfectly hilarious writing by debut author Dev Petty, with Mike Boldt's illustrations pushing it all to the max. " said.

December 2017 New Book:

You Maybe Interested In Other Reviews:


Hot Search:

the london book fair    boutique girl clothes cheap    bad monkey book    marval comics    lawyer information for kids    best selling books for babies    holiday craft ideas    crocodile image    spider man stories for children    kids books    divorce books for children    best books on motherhood    the bear novel    read online stories for kids    baby books to read    fun easy crafts for kids    read short stories online for free    short stories for kids with pictures    how to make a hardcover book for kids    top romantic book