BOOK REVIEWS

The Wanderings of Odysseus: The Story of the Odyssey Reviews

UPDATE TIME: 2017-09-20 
Review Score: 4 out of 5 star From 54 user ratings
ISBN:0553494821
LANGUAGE:English
no reviews!
Book Introduction: For fans of D'Aulaires' Book of Greek Myths and readers who enjoyed Homer's The Iliad and The Odyssey, comes a retelling by a master storyteller and an award-winning illustrator that evokes the golden age of mythical Greece.  The long siege is over, and Troy lies in ashes. The black ships of the Greek war-host set sail for home. But for heroic King Odysseus of Ithaca, the return voyage holds hazards far greater than any he faced during the Trojan War. Forced by ill winds into unknown seas, Odysseus and his crew must contend with ever-stranger perils: the flesh-eating Cyclops, Circe with her deadly enchantments, the soul-chilling Land of the Dead.   Woven through with a spectacular cast of men, magicians, and monsters, Odysseus' harrowing journey home to his family and kingdom tests the limits of his strength, and the power of his will."[Sutcliff] retells Homer's Odyssey with thrilling drama...The story of the hero's long years of wandering...has the mythic power of everyone's search for home...[and she] fuses epic grandeur with a direct simplicity that will bring the universal story home."-Booklist"An intimate portrait of a man...Readers will enjoy this classic adventure."-SLJ"Rosemary Sutcliff has done a great service...by warmly and carefully abridging two classics that many people find difficult to tackle in their original form. Not only has she broken the long tales into tolerable and interesting chapters, she has smoothed out the language while keeping true to all of the original drama and excitement."-Parents ExpressFrom the Hardcover edition.

January 2018 New Book:

You Maybe Interested In Other Reviews:


Hot Search:

www dckids com    crafts for young kids    unique baby clothes boutique    simple crafts for kids    online girls boutique    unique dresses for girls    lessons learned in life book    how to make a comic    top romantic fiction books    free stories to read for kids    government for children    how to make comics for kids    short stories to read online for teenagers    comi kids    free online short stories for kids    with child book    research website for kids    monkey book    five little monkeys books    roald dahl the enormous crocodile pdf