BOOK REVIEWS

Tony's Bread: An Italian Folktale (Paperstar) Reviews

UPDATE TIME: 2018-01-16 
Review Score: 5 out of 5 star From 18 user ratings
ISBN:1442006358
LANGUAGE:English

"In the tradition of Strega Nona, Tony's Bread tells the story of Tony and Serafina, both having dreams and both being realized. Tony wants to be the most well-known bakery in Milano. His daughter Serafina sits in her room, crying, because Tony does not think any young man is good enough for her and he refuses all courting appeals. All this changes when the young nobleman, Antony, sees Serafina, falls in love with her and devises a plan to marry Serafina by giving Tony his dream - to become the most well-known baker in all of Milano." said.

"Buona Lettura, yes this is definately buona lettura.
This title was readily accessible to me and hey its Tomie, so i have had it home with me several weeks. What a sweet surprise for me that it turned out to be an Italian folktale. It was charming and Italian--food as well as romance.
amd thanks Tomie for teaching me that biscotti means cookie.

According to the author's note Tomie was the creative director of Whitebird books for G. C. Putumn which was publishing international folktales, so now I am in search of some of these titles. A google search only produced one, if you know on any titles send me a message, Thanks.

" said.

"Tony’s Bread

K-4th grade

Tomie dePaolas illustrations are fun and colorful. They are simple and cartoonish in nature. The pictures are each framed and fill the pages and bring the story to life. The text is in English and incorporates Italian words and their meanings as well. The text is also used as part of the illustrations in letters that Angelo wrote to Signore Baker and Bella. This book may be appealing to children because it has a happy ending and everyone gets what they want.

Language Arts/Science

Science Example: Students can add different ingredients to a bread mixture and cook the bread in various containers. The use of yeast or lack of it could be an interesting experiment as well.
" said.

"Adorable! A true fairy tale of love & good fortune! It's too bad real life doesn't always follow suit of fairy tales! Although having everything good all the time doesn't make it real...but this simple read will allow you to dream right along with the characters!

This book is simply a fairy tale. One of love at first sight, those who want love to happen, one who would like his dreams to come true, and in the end...everyone is granted their hearts desire! I especially love the hand written letters that are included in the book's plot!

You'll never guess what the main character makes at the end of the book! Something that has a love/hate relationship with many of us today! NO spoilers! Get this book for a good fairy tale to read to your children today!
" said.

"dePaola, Tomie. (1989). Tony’s Bread. New York, NY: G.P. Putnam’s Sons.

Annotation: For preschoolers to second grade. Tomie dePaola’s illustrations live up to his reputation of creating cozy warm characters and settings to supplement beautiful stories. This book is an Italian Folktale that tells the story of the creation of panettone, Italian bread. A baker, Tony, and his daughter, Serafina, are given the opportunity to move to Milano if Tony allows Angelo, a rich man, marry his daughter. Angelo also gives Tony his own bakery where he becomes famous for his light, rich Christmas bread. Additionally the story has Italian words in the written text that allows the reader to learn more about the Italian culture.

Personal Reflection: I have adored books by Tomie dePaola since I was a little girl. His illustrations are beautiful and his stories are about faraway places. Young children love stories about different cultures and faraway places and they will enjoy this Italian folktale. Furthermore, this book allows students to learn about where things come from. In my kindergarten class, a student’s grandmother brought panettone to class for us to eat, and she read us this story afterwards. This book could be used in the classroom (along with other books) to teach students about how different cultures have passed on their food and traditions to America.
" said.

"Text Set book #8

This book is an Italian fairy-tale-like folklore book about a young man who seeks a princess, and works with Pasta in order to gain her father’s respect. At the end of the story, Tony creates the Italian bread, panetonne. This book demonstrates how different one cultures side dish can be from another.

I would introduce the book in this way: “Introduction: In Italy, a country in Europe, there is a special kind of bread Italians and now anybody can eat during special occasions. Let’s to read to find about how this delicious Italian bread came to be.”

I would also include turn and talk questions, such as:

“Oh no, Tony is feeling insecure about his bread. He feels like the bread of Milan is way better than his. What would you say to Tony, now that you know about how there are so many different types of delicious breads in the world?”

Another class project I would do with my class would be to bring in panetonne and have student compare and contrast panetonne from the slice bread they eat in the cafeteria. By providing them with the hands on experience of exploring the new bread after being exposed to Italian culture, students would go into the exploration with an excited lens as opposed to critical of the new bread they may have never tasted.

This book also gives students insight into a small European town, and values the individual’s hard work and determination. One thing that I appreciate about this book is that it is a fairytale told from a “prince’s” point of view, instead of the typical princess.

" said.

"In the tradition of Strega Nona, Tony's Bread tells the story of Tony and Serafina, both having dreams and both being realized. Tony wants to be the most well-known bakery in Milano. His daughter Serafina sits in her room, crying, because Tony does not think any young man is good enough for her and he refuses all courting appeals. All this changes when the young nobleman, Antony, sees Serafina, falls in love with her and devises a plan to marry Serafina by giving Tony his dream - to become the most well-known baker in all of Milano." said.

"Buona Lettura, yes this is definately buona lettura.
This title was readily accessible to me and hey its Tomie, so i have had it home with me several weeks. What a sweet surprise for me that it turned out to be an Italian folktale. It was charming and Italian--food as well as romance.
amd thanks Tomie for teaching me that biscotti means cookie.

According to the author's note Tomie was the creative director of Whitebird books for G. C. Putumn which was publishing international folktales, so now I am in search of some of these titles. A google search only produced one, if you know on any titles send me a message, Thanks.

" said.

January 2018 New Book:

You Maybe Interested In Other Reviews:


Hot Search:

different endangered animals    funny story for kids    free english learning books    drop in daycare houston    online free stories for kids    kids books to read    snake    online books kids    make a comic online for kids    city kids adventures    fiction book lists    newborn clothing boutique    kid adventure houston    list of life lessons for kids    short reading stories    boutique for kids    making crafts for kids    arts and crafts for toddlers    ant crafts for kids    kids clothing boutique